The Inner Circle

Standard

I stood on the ledge of the 80 story building staring into the black sky.
Behind me I could here Josh giving one of his damn speeches again.
“…it’s a fight for us, a fight for our generation. They took everything from us…”
I sighed.
How did I get roped into this?
I felt a hand touch my shoulder.
“Hey,” Josh said. “We’re doing the right thing.” Trying to reassure me.
I snorted. “It sure as hell doesn’t feel like it.
His hand retreated. “It’s too late to back out now Eve.” I heard the anger in his voice.
I closed my eyes.
“We’ll see.” I whispered
And jumped.

Leave a Reply

