How do people do it?

Standard

That charm. The confidence. Their positive and ambitious demeanor. They make it look so easy. As if its second nature to them. To just walk up to someone, anyone, and instantly become friends. I can’t even get past “what’s your name?” It’s as if I have no idea what I should say next that won’t scare them away. I’m so bad at small talk it’s crippling.
I mean what common things do people talk about? I know what I like but I have no clue what you like and no idea on how to ask you.
Do you like the things I like?
Are we completely relatable?
Or polar opposites?
Do you like me?
Will I like you?
Is seeing each other again because we want to talk to each other a given?
Or will we be those “I’ll see you when I see you” acquaintance’s?

And if you ask me something about myself will I know how to answer? Or what to say? Or will I, myself, not even know myself as well as you think I do?

3 thoughts on “How do people do it?

  1. Just read your comment on OM (Harsh Reality) about being shy.

    I’m actually quite shy in real life, but am amazed how liberating blogging is. I love the interaction with other bloggers and because it’s not face to face, I find it much easier than connecting with new people in real life, a bit like you write in this post.
    I seem to get along with people quite easily, but making new friends…hmm, that only seems to happen once every 5 years or so…

    Like

  2. Atherz097

    My thoughts again! D:
    I mean, for instance, I see a girl. I think for several minutes about talking to her (what to say, etc). Then all of a sudden a guy comes up, starts having her laugh, etc. I’m just like “whuuu…tt…” (Actually, that happened today ._.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

